News Release from Polaris, Toronto, ON – Thursday, July 14, 2016 – The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music and produced by Blue Ant Media, announced its 2016 Short List of Canadian albums today.

Announcing the 2016 Short List were this year’s gala hosts: Tom Power, CBC Radio 2 Morning host and Polaris jurist, and Amanda Parris, host of CBC Radio 2’s Marvin’s Room and CBC’s Exhibitionists. The Polaris Music Prize gala will be held at The Carlu in Toronto on Monday, September 19 at 8 p.m. ET and streamed live on CBC Music’s Facebook page and YouTube channel.

2016 Polaris Music Prize Short List:

Black Mountain – IV (Jagjaguwar)
Basia Bulat – Good Advice (Secret City Records)
Grimes – Art Angels (4AD)
Carly Rae Jepsen – E•MO•TION (Interscope)
Kaytranada – 99.9% (XL REcordings)
Jessy Lanza – Oh No (Hyperdub)
PUP – The Dream Is Over (Royal Mountain)
Andy Shauf – The Party (Anti- / Epitaph)
U.S. Girls – Half Free (4AD)
White Lung – Paradise (Domino Records)

Here is a clip from each of these albums:











At 6 p.m. (6:30 p.m. NT) this evening, CBC Radio 2 will feature a special hour-long broadcast celebrating the Polaris Music Prize Short List on Drive with Rich Terfry. Local CBC Radio 2 frequencies can be found at or the broadcast can be streamed online at

The eligibility period for the 2016 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2015 to May 31, 2016. An independent jury of 194 music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada determine the Long List and Short List. Eleven people are selected from the larger jury pool to serve on the Grand Jury. They will convene the night of the gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The Polaris Music Prize will award $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. The nine other Short Listed artists will receive $3,000 Courtesy of Slaight Music. Polaris is judged solely on artistic merit without consideration of genre or record sales. Past winners have included Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

About the Polaris Music Prize

Polaris Music Prize, produced in association with Blue Ant Media, is a not-for-profit organization that annually honours, celebrates and rewards creativity and diversity in Canadian recorded music. Polaris Music Prize recognizes and then markets the albums of the highest artistic integrity, without regard for musical genre, professional affiliation or sales history, as judged by a panel of selected music critics.

Read this article in French here.

Réagissez à cet article / Comment this article

commentaires / comments

About The Author

RREVERB informations

RREVERB vous tient informé de l'actualité musicale. Concerts à voir, programmation des festivals et nouvelles des stars comme de l'industrie sont communiqués sur le site.